ss_blog_claim=d5d99c4c70a3271d91dc685b5632f19e
Showing posts with label pinoy. Show all posts
Showing posts with label pinoy. Show all posts

Thursday, June 30, 2011

Halo-Halo

1 Comments


When we went to max restaurant recently, i skipped the salo at gulaman for a change. I got this halo-halo instead for dessert. It was perfect after a tennis game on a hot and humid day. Yummy halo-halo!

Sunday, February 27, 2011

(Fried) Food At Max

4 Comments

I don't know if we went on a wrong day but on the day we went to Max, the lady told us while we were waiting for our table that we can only order food that are fried - meaning no pancit, fresh lumpia or kare-kare (my favorite), etc. They run out of the others because there were too many diners. So, what are we gonna do, right? We already drove 10 miles to eat at Max so just make the most out of it.



This is a mix of the calamare and lumpiang shanghai. It is good. We had one to go of this too.



If you go to Max, you gotta have the chicken. This he whole max fried chicken with garlic fried rice. I was a bit disappointed because i was looking for the manila max taste chicken - the crispy chicken to the bones. Only the skin was crispy. Hubby said next time we should tell them to fry it crispy. Still, we had another of this to go. So what else is fried....the lechon kawali? but we are trying to avoid pork so we did not order that.



For our drinks, we had the sago at gulaman.


p.s. i re-fried the chicken that we had to go and it was yummier, better than what we had at the restaurant.

Monday, February 21, 2011

Max Inside Out

1 Comments

This is Max from the outside. It's a two storey building. They don't have their own parking for customers but there is a meter parking very close to the area or park on the street if you are lucky to get one.



The lobby, i mean, the first floor/waiting area. When I first saw this, it seems that it is so quiet, like nobody was dining at all. This is where you pick up your to go orders.



No it is not quiet at all when you go to the second floor. It is a madhouse actually. It was packed (probably because we went on a Saturday). The waiters are very apologetic naman. This shows how the pinoys miss the max fried chicken in the philippines.

Monday, January 24, 2011

So We Had Mongo

2 Comments


I did go to the Filam store last weekend to buy the mongo. A 400 gram pack is $1.35 plus chicharon $1.85. I cooked it yesterday but we ended up eating it only tonight. I also put some shrimps and my favorite kamunggay leaves. I opted not to put the chicharon on the last minute because I picked the one with vinegar and also it tasted like old.

I took photo through my cellphone. My apologies for the picture.

Published with Blogger-droid v1.6.5

Tuesday, January 11, 2011

When Can We Eat At Max?

1 Comments

The only reason why we have not been to Max Restaurant yet is the rumored line or waiting time before you finally get a table. A friend told me that they waited for an hour to get a table then another hour to be served. This was on a weekend. This is the same scenario the first time Red Ribbon Bakeshop opened in Jersey City and Jollibee in New York. Miss na miss talaga ng mga Pinoy ang pagkain natin! Me too, I miss Max fried chicken....

Monday, January 10, 2011

The Longganiza Picture

0 Comments



This picture goes with my previous post about Pinoy food but for some reason I can't upload it using my phone to my blog. And, it is too small. I've been blogging using my phone but now it's acting up. Sorry, for the tiny tiny bit photo.

Pinoy Food At The Supermarket

0 Comments

Now I don't have to drive far if I want to eat longanisa or tocino. They are being sold now at Shoprite, a big chain of store here. Shoprite is like Albertson's in other states. I surprised when I saw hot longaniza, longganizang bawang and tocino inside the freezer. This is something new at the store. I know they sell miki noodles, dumpling wrappers and shrimp rolls but nothing Pinoy. Sa saya, I can' t resist not to take a picture.
Published with Blogger-droid v1.6.5

Sunday, December 19, 2010

Max's in New Jersey

0 Comments

How did i not know right away? We already have a Max's restaurant here in New Jersey (although around 15 miles from my miles but still NJ - don't mind!). Yehey!!! It is located in Jersey City where the first Red Ribbon is. A friend from my daughter's party told me that they just went there two days ago. We gotta go there. I haven't had their chicken in yyyyyeeeearrrrssss!!!!!

Add to Technorati Favorites

Wednesday, September 22, 2010

My TiVo

0 Comments

This is a Sponsored Post written by me on behalf of TiVo. All opinions are 100% mine.




The talk of the town in the Filipino community today is Charice, the Filipina sensation who was discovered on You Tube by Oprah, who is now on Glee Season 2. Her first episode was last night playing the role of an international student who auditioned as a new member of Glee. Charice performance singing the song “Listen” from Dreamgirls was outstanding. As a Filipina, it makes you proud seeing another Filipina shine on American TV. By the way, her name of Glee is Sunshine Corazon.

So I made a post on facebook to all my friends to watch out for glee tonight and see charice. A lot was not able to watch the show because of work so they have been messaging me if I recorded the show on Tivo. Of course, I did. My friends know that there is no chance for me to be watching Fall TV shows between 7-9pm because that is the dinner, homework and bedtime for my daughter. I am just happy for what my Tivo can do and with its new TiVo Premiere features. With its new interface, it makes my browsing on what TV shows to watch a lot easier. And, here is what so cool with TiVo. They also have the Slide Remote where you slide the bottom of the remote and a full QWERTY keyboard hidden underneath is out making my searches of shows so easy and fun. I feel like I am just texting on TiVo.

You don’t have TiVo yet? I am inviting you all to go to TiVo’s Facebook Fan Page to know more about their products and learn how you will never miss your favorite TV shows and movies anymore. With TiVo, you can control everything in the palm of your hands. To get your own TiVo, be sure to Enter to Win the sweepstakes “30 Slides in 30 Days” and win a new TiVo Slide. One TiVo Slide is given everyday but hurry because this contest ends soon. Good Luck!


Visit my sponsor: Fall’s Hottest Entertainment







Add to Technorati Favorites

Saturday, August 14, 2010

Ang Bayabas!

6 Comments

It means "The Guavas."

Would you buy this for $3.99/lb?

That's how much they were selling these guavas at the oriental store. It was my first time to see guavas at the store this small and almost buloks na! When these kind of guavas are not these riped, they are actually more sweet than those big ones.

Bibili sana ako kasi miss ko na ang bayabas kaya lang bulokis naman!



Add to Technorati Favorites

Wednesday, May 12, 2010

Charice

6 Comments

The new Charice Pempengco album entitled "Charice" is at Target's Weekly Ad for this week. Her album which was released last Tuesday is now available at any Target stores starting today for $11.98. Also, you can buy her album from itunes or download per song for $1.29.

These are the 14 songs in the album : 1. pyramid 2. reset 3. in this song 4. nobody's singin' to me 5. thank you 6. i love you 7. in love so deep 8. all that i need to survive 9. nothing 10. the truth is 11. i did it for you 12. note to god 13. breathe you out 14. are we over.

Congratulations Charice and Happy 18th birthday!

Add to Technorati Favorites

Saturday, March 6, 2010

Mongo Bread And Monay

5 Comments




I am so happy that I can buy filipino breads anytime now without traveling. Philippine bread house just opened a new branch in our town and I can even walk from my house to the store. It is a restaurant actually where you can go and eat plus they sell filipino breads such as pandesal, monay, pan de coco, ube bread, cakes and rolls, etc. I was hoping they will also have the hot pandesal but not at this newly opened branch. Their hot pandesal is really the one that is to die for and it goes fast. If I really wanted this hot pandesal, I have to drive to Jersey City. I'd be contented with what they carry here right now and save my gas.
The monay and monggo bread are very good too.

Add to Technorati Favorites

Wednesday, November 18, 2009

Pacman Fever

8 Comments

After the Manny Pacquiao win, all of a sudden I got associated with the Pacman here at my job. I am the only pinoy here, oh correction dalawa pala kami pero yung isa dito parang ayaw umamin na pinoy sya porke ‘ala ng accent mag-english pero please sa kulay pala di maitago…nway, for those who have watched the fight or heard about it, when they see me, they are like..”that pacquiao from Philippines was unbelievable and super fast!” There was even one Puerto Rican yesterday and he was super bilib kay many. Even my husband told me that people will yell at him “pacquiao!!!” (pero slang) as they see him along the corridor.

It’s the Pacman fever. Congrats again Manny.


photo from espn.com

About Me